top of page


Fellow of American Oil Chemist Society (2015)


One of the highest honors that AOCS and granted only to the most deserving members who have made significant achievements in science and extraordinary service to the Society.


AOCS’s Fellows Award (2005)


The status of Fellow is awarded to members of the AOCS whose achievements in science entitle them to exceptionally important recognition or to those who have rendered unusually important service to the Society or to the profession.


AOCS’s Stephen S. Chang Award (2002)


This award recognizes a scientist, technologist, or engineer whose distinguished accomplishments in basic research have been used by industries for the improvement or development of products related to lipids.


AOCS’s Herbert J. Dutton Award (1996)


The Analytical Division of the AOCS initiated this award to recognize an individual who has made significant contributions to the analyses of fats and oils and related products or whose work has resulted in major advances in the understanding of processes utilized in the fats and oils industry.


AOCS’s Young Scientist Research Award


The AOCS Young Scientist Research Award was established to annually recognize a young scientist that

has made a significant and substantial research contribution in one of the areas represented by the

Divisions of AOCS. The award consists of a plaque, an honorarium, and funding for travel and registration to attend the AOCS Annual Meeting & Expo where the awardee will present a scientific paper relating to the research and development that has merited them the award.


Following scientists have been awarded for the last 15 years:


2017 Laura Nyström​

2016 No award given

2015 Michael A. Rogers

2014 Helen L. Ngo

2013 Michael A. R. Meier

2012 Richard P. Bazinet

2011 Raffaele Mezzenga  

2010 Edgar J. Acosta

2009 Ken D. Stark 

2008 Liangli (Lucy) Yu

2007 G. Barcelo-Coblijn

2006 David Compton 

2005 Ki-Teak Lee

2004 John N. Coupland

2003 Yeonhwa Park

2002 Anu Hopia

2001 F. Xavier Malcata

2000 A. Marangoni


bottom of page